Nurturing the artist and scientist within

Everyone has an artist and scientist inside of themselves.  Even if you are inclined to think verbally (the scientist) or think in terms of imagery (the artist) we each have embodied both of these qualities of life.  

The functioning of the human brain reflects the underlying etheric structure that we have created.  Although we are born with an inbuilt propensity toward science and art due to past experience, employing free will in this life time gives each of us the ability to develop whatever aspect of life we set our mind upon.

Since balance and moderation is important to life, we should each nurture that aspect if this duo (scientist/artist) that has not yet fully blossomed. 

We should shout “I LUV Math” and “What a Beautiful Sunrise”.

The brain has two cerebral hemispheres, the left and the right.  Neuro Physicians have been able to identify which areas of the brain are associated with (or govern) the functioning of different aspects of human life.   

For example, the brain consists of the following components:

1. Frontal lobe—area of conscious thought.

2. Parietal lobe—plays important roles in integrating sensory information (sight, sound, taste, touch and smell) and in the manipulation of special objects.

3. Occipital lobe—sense of sight.

4. Temporal lobe—senses of smell and sound, as well as processing of complex stimuli like faces and scenes.

5. Cerebellum – links sensory input to motion and balance.

6. Pons, olive, and medulla oblongata – relay brain signals, cerebellar motor learning and function, controls autonomic functions such as breathing, heart rate, and blood pressure.

The left and right hemispheres of the brain further delineate the various attributes/functions of human personality.  We often hear that one is either right brain, of left brain dominate.  

Meditation helps balance both of these aspects of life.  Artistic appreciation enlivens in the scientist, and focused delineated thinking enlivens in the artist.   

Kundalini Channels

Kundalini is the primordial energy of life.  It flows through all beings.  It resides (3-½ coils) at the base of the human spine and travels upward as consciousness expands.  The various energy centers (chakras) in the body become “cleared” as we meditate and follow a path of balance and growth.

Kundalini travels through the body in three vertical channels. The left (ida nadi), the right (pingala nadi), and the center (sushumna nadi) channels.     

When these are balanced growth is in harmony and follows natures lead.  When out of balance, various disorders can appear.

The functioning of the left Kundalini channel has an intimate relationship with the right brain hemisphere (it crosses over), and conversely the right Kundalini channel has an intimate relationship with the left brain hemisphere (it also crosses over). 

Stress and strain in the nervous system blocks its full functioning, along with a more balanced free flow of Kundalini.  The practice of meditation refines the breath, which in turn allows the body to rest, and subsequently dissolves stress and strain.  Through time the chakras as “cleared”, consciousness expands, and full human potential is realized.           

The chakra energy centers are found on the Autonomic Nervous System.

The Kundalini three vertical channels are found on the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems within the spinal column.

Here is a summary of Kundalini influence and functioning in human life.  Take a few minutes to look this over.

Crown Sahasrara Chakra

Right channel
Pingala Nadi

Central channel

Sushumna Nadi

The channel of Ascension

Left channel
Ida Nadi

 Right brain hemisphere   Left brain hemisphere
 Artist   Scientist
 Honored more in Eastern Cultures   Honored more in Western Cultures
 Intuitive, learn from visual images and audio.   Rational, analytical, logical, sequential thinkers
Responds to demonstrated instructions.
Problem solves with hunches, looking for patterns and configurations.
Looks at similarities.
Is fluid and spontaneous.
Prefers elusive, uncertain information.
Prefers drawing and manipulating objects.
Prefers open ended questions.
Free with feelings.
Prefers uncompetitive authority structures.
Responds to verbal instructions.
Problem solves by logically and sequentially looking at the parts.
Looks at differences.
Is planned and structured.
Prefers established, certain information.
Prefers talking and writing.
Prefers multiple choice tests.
Controls feelings.
Prefers ranked authority structures.
Kundalini – Pingala Nadi channel facilitates action, planning, physical and mental activity. 
An imbalance can cause aggressiveness, inflated ego, and loss of emotional sensitivity. 
Crosses over to influence the left side of the brain. 

Kundalini Sushumna Nadi
Supports balanced growth

Kundalini – Ida Nadi channel facilitates our emotions, desires, influence of memory and the past, affection for others, habits, conditioning, and our desire for happiness.
An imbalance can cause emotional imbalance, submissiveness, swings of happiness and sadness, lack of self discipline, inability to break bad habits, and self obsession.
Crosses over to influence the right side of the brain. 
Draws on unbounded qualitative patterns that are not organized into sequences, but that cluster around images.   Draws on previously accumulated, organized information.
 Rights select careers as:
  Left select careers as:

 We are all artists and scientists.   So strive to balance both aspects of life.

“Established in Yoga, O winner of
wealth, perform actions having
abandoned attachment and having
become balanced in success and
failure, for balance of mind is
called Yoga”.

(Bhagavad Gita, chapter 2, Verse 48).

Alternate nostril breathing (Nadi Shodhana Pranayama) helps to rebalance the equal use of both brain hemispheres.

We also need to balance our masculine and feminine sides.  Emotional sensitivity along with daring and strength are hallmarks for successful living.    

For those that believe in reincarnation, we spend time as both man and woman.  It’s very common to have several lifetimes in a row as a man, and then several consecutive life times as women.  This allows us to experience both aspects (all principles) of nature/life.  Difficulty sometimes comes during the lifetime when we transition from one gender over or to the other.      

The middle path:

On the days of the spring and autumnal equinox, day and night are equal.  There is no predominance either way.  This is sometimes described as, “Buddha’s delight of the Middle Way,” 

Oneness of the spiritual and the physical, oneness of good and evil, union of Yin and Yang, represent balance in nature and life.  

Kundalini flows throughout all life, but human beings have the most highly developed nervous system and complete set of energy centers (7 – chakras).  Life forms such as plants and animals have far fewer chakras.  Awareness is more collective (group soul) on that level.  At the human stage the soul is individualized, and opportunity exists for enlightenment. 

Take advantage of your brief time on Earth; meditate every day to enliven and balance Kundalini, and attain Self Realization.

This entry was posted on Friday, October 22nd, 2010 at 10:26 pm and is filed under Knowledge. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.