meditation and spiritual growth

Life on Earth begins with a first breath. A new born baby cries, and parents delight.

Everyone is born with the seed of the divine. The universal SELF, or pure consciousness (Paramatma) shines within us all.

Unfortunately, the unenlightened mind cloaks its full expression.

The natural energy of the SELF within the human body is often called Kundalini (the coiled power, Shakti). It resides at the base of the spine. It travels within a column in the spine less that 1/100th the width of a hair, and is often referred to as the Shushumna Nadi. As consciousness expands Kundalini flows more freely. As individual consciousness grows toward universal consciousness, that energy travels progressively further up and down the spine, as stress is released and awareness becomes more refined.

The next time that you take a breath try to notice whether you are breathing through one nostril or through both nostrils. During meditation breathing becomes more refined and we tend to breathe more evenly from both nostrils. Over time as we continue our practice of meditation our breathing becomes more and more refined. The refined breath infuses the system. Acting in the Shushumna, it tries to raise Kundalini from the base of the spine. As blockages are encountered stress is released and the system becomes more pure, and consciousness expands. The energy travels more freely up and down. As the path opens higher centers (Chakras) are reached and eventually cleared. Kundalini wants to travel a clear path, from the base of the spine to crown of the head.

The Chakras

There are seven Chakras (wheels of light); energy centers which receive, absorb, and release life force energy.

Crown Chakra Sahasrara (7th); near pituitary gland, clear experience of being, pure consciousness, all elements Enlightenment, Nirvana, Cosmic Consciousness.

Thousand petal lotus flower that resonates to the color violet

Brow Chakra Ajna (6th); the third eye, near pineal gland, mind, intellect and intuition, all elements

Two petal lotus flower that resonates to the color indigo

Throat Chakra Vishuddha (5th); near thyroid, clearer thinking and greater sense of security, spiritual drive, self will, surrender, sense of hearing, either element

Sixteen petal lotus flower that resonates to the color blue

Heart Chakra Anahata (4th); in the chest near the thymus, unconditional love for self and others, spiritual devotion, sense of touch, air element

Twelve petal lotus flower that resonates to the color green

Solar Plexus Chakra Manipura (3rd): near the adrenal glands, metabolic and digestive system, personal power, all matters of growth, sense of sight, fire element

Ten petal lotus flower that resonates to the color yellow

Sacral Chakra Svadhisthana (2nd); near the sacrum, violence, addictions, basic emotional needs, and pleasure, sensual drive, reproduction, sense of taste, water element

Six petal lotus flower that resonates to the color orange

Base Chakra Muladhara (1st); instinct, security, survival, material drive, sense of smell, earth element,

Four petal lotus flower and it resonates to the color red.

The practice of Qigong also utilizes a similar model of the human body and energy currents, except that it involves the circulation of qi (ki, chi) energy. Similar systems are described in Tai Chi, the Jewish Kabala, and in the Islamic Sufi tradition.

The lotus

When a Chakra is fully cleared, those qualities associated to it become fully imbibed. When not fully cleared, only partial functioning is enjoyed.

Enlightenment is experienced when the path (Shushumna Nadi) is fully cleared from stress and strain and all Chakras, particularly the Crown Chakra Sahasrara, are open and fully functional. Kundalini then freely resonates within the entire system.

Laya Yoga is one discipline that teaches how to directly awaken Kundalini. Laya means absorption. But caution should be taken when practicing this approach. Laya or Kundalini Yoga should only be practiced under the direct personal supervision of a qualified teacher. The improper awakening, control, or forced movement of Kundalini can lead to serious nervous system disorders.

I would recommend that you do not learn or practice Kundalini yoga based on what you read in a book or find on the internet.

Forms of meditation that employ either contemplation or transcendental techniques, “gently” enliven Kundalini energy in a natural and effortless way. During meditation as mental activity becomes less, physical activity also becomes less. We experience rest and more refined breathing. The breath (Prana) becomes more cultured on the physical and etheric level, gently enlivening this life force.

That initiates the release of stress and a resulting upward movement of Kundalini in the nervous system. Activity during the day causes some of that benefit to fade, but what remains is stead fast and integrated. This is the natural progression for spiritual development. Meditation and activity are both important.

Make every day count during your current life as a human being on this beautiful planet.

The hardest part of life on the earth is being born. Compared to the birth process living your life on a day to day basis is much easier. So take advantage of the opportunity to turn that experience into waves of joy and happiness.

Breathe less and live longer.

Meditation leads to more refined breathing, which further enlivens the spiritual energy (Kundalini) within you.

That germ of life is present in all creatures; bacteria, vegetation, insects, fish, birds, animals and man. At mans level, because of conscious wakefulness; there is an opportunity to raise awareness to that of Being.

Practice meditation every day to take flight on the wings of joy, stretching out to embrace the pure absolute timeless value of existence.